Home > Uncategorized > George Gissing: A child should never hear or know of war

George Gissing: A child should never hear or know of war

====

Anti-war essays, poems, short stories and literary excerpts

British writers on peace and war

George Gissing: Selections on war

====

George Gissing
The Whirlpool

‘Good old chap! What a pity he can’t be cracking crowns somewhere!’

‘Oh! I’m sure I’d rather see him making bicycles.’

”Tisn’t his vocation. He ought to go somewhere and get up a little war of his own – as he once told me he should like to. We can’t do without the fighting man.’

‘Will you bring Hughie up to it, then?’

Harvey fixed his eyes on a point far off.

‘I fear he won’t have the bone and muscle. But I should like him to have the pluck. I’m afraid he mayn’t, for I’m a vile coward myself.’

‘I should like a child never to hear or know of war,’ said Mrs Frothingham fervently.

‘And so should I,’ Harvey answered, in a graver tone.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment