Home > Uncategorized > Lucian: Rejecting war’s seductive appeal

Lucian: Rejecting war’s seductive appeal

====

Anti-war essays, poems, short stories and literary excerpts

Greek and Roman writers on war and peace

Lucian: The source of civic strife and war

Lucian: War propaganda and its hyperbole

====

Lucian
From The Judgment of the Goddesses
Translated by A.M. Harmon

97d5a8fe-f78b-11e3-8b47-5fd177f63c37

Athena
I am at your side, and if you judge me beautiful, Paris, you shall never leave the field of battle defeated, but always victorious, for I shall make you a warrior and a conqueror.

Paris
I have no use, Athena, for war and battle. As you see, peace reigns at present over Phrygia and Lydia, and my father’s realm is free from war…

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment