Home > Uncategorized > Charles Yale Harrison: War and really murdering someone

Charles Yale Harrison: War and really murdering someone

====

Anti-war essays, poems, short stories and literary excerpts

American writers on peace and against war

Charles Yale Harrison: Selections on war

====

Charles Yale Harrison
From Generals Die In Bed (1928)

“I should like to go to Whitechapel this evening,” I say.

She looks at me with surprise.

“Why?”

“I’ve heard so much about it. I want to see it.”

“It’s not nice there.”

“I know, but I want to see more of London than just its music halls, Hyde Park, and its very wonderful pubs.”

“But very low people live there, criminals and such things – you will be robbed.”

“Well, I don’t mind. I am a criminal. Did I ever tell you I committed murder?”

She looks up with a jerk. Her eyes look at me with suspicion.

“It was some time ago. I came into a place where an enemy of mine was and I stabbed him and ran off,” I explain.

Her eyes are wide open. She is horrified. She does not speak.

I laugh and relate that the murder took place in a trench and that my enemy wore a pot-shaped helmet.

Her face glows with a smile.

“You silly boy. I thought you had really murdered someone.”

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

